So much hope in this jar.

12 Mar

For the vast majority of my life, I have been terrified of moisturizing my face. I’ve been plagued with oil / acne ever since I was wee, so I figured that adding more moisture to my face would only make me shiny and pimply. But my roommate Pooja has recently sold me on the benefits of moisturizing — she claimed that it can actually prevent breakouts and clear up your skin. Say wuh?!?

So, not having anything better to do, I browsed Sephora for a couple of hours and came across Hope in a Jar, a facial moisturizer by Philosophy. It claims to be a lightweight moisturizer for all skin types. This worried me, because I figured that anything heavy enough to work for someone with dry skin would inevitably make me break out.

Wrong. This stuff is fabulous. If you can get past the strange/abrasive smell, you’ll notice it instantly brightens, polishes, tones, and moisturizers. By instantly I mean after a few days, but still. It’s awesome. I love it. It also makes a great base for foundation or powder. This is my new go to staple. Yes, it’s expensive. $30 for a little jar. But $30 is a small price to pay for hope.

Leave a Reply

