Lighten up

1 Sep

As today was the first day of classes, I assume things are going to get hectic pretty damn fast. Meetings, classes, exams, papers, all-nighters, yada yada yada. This means lack of sleep. This means sleepy face. Drinking coffee will help, but it definitely won’t get rid of the bags under your eyes. Here’s how to fake awakeness with make-up!

  • Put concealer under your eyes. I cannot stress this enough. If there is one piece of make-up you put on in the morning (well, besides mascara), it should be concealer under the eyes! It makes everything pop and gets rid of the droopies. I recommend BENEFIT’s Erase Paste ($27), but really anything will do as long as it’s the right shade.

  • Load up on mascara. I’ve recently discovered that for maximum fabulosity of lashes, it really helps to apply multiple coats. Even if you think just one coat does the trick. I also recommend curling your lashes, which will brighten up your eyes loads. Right now I’m using DIOR’s Diorshow Mascara ($24).
  • Exfoliate. As I’m sure you know, exfoliating scrubs away dead skin cells and leaves your skin smooth and radiant. Everybody should exfoliate, even if you think your skin is too sensitive–I promise you can find the right fit for you. I like ST. IVES Apricot Scrub ($3). I don’t think it’s necessary to splurge on exfoliators. As long as there’s some sort of scrubby agent, it will do the trick.
  • Do not be afraid of white eyeliner. A little bit of white eyeliner on the inside corner of your eyes does wonders. If you don’t believe me, check out the picture.

White eyeliner can do magical things.

Leave a Reply

